Skylon Tower (Continental Restaurant)

The revolving restaurant at the Skylon Tower offers one of the best continental restaurants in Niagara Falls. It is located 775 ft. from the fall and has won multiple awards.Β  The restaurant also offers a majestic 360 degree view of the skyline of Niagara Falls. This restaurant features a variety of European dishes. An elevator operates from the ground floor to the restaurant. A series of entertainment such as photo sessions and free observation deck tickets awaits on your way to the elevator. A glass elevator took me to the restaurant where I was greeted by a smiling hostess who showed me to my table. I was offered a menu and water and I was asked for my drink order.

IMG_2508.JPG
Garden salad

My dinner started with drinks from the bar followed by a fresh garden salad. Our waiter also brought us complimentary house made bread and butter. The salad was made with fresh romaine lettuce with arugula and garden vegetables such as cherry tomatoes, capsicum, onions, black olives and blue cheese, tossed with a generous amount of vinaigrette. The salad was really refreshing and had a distinct flavor to it. My main course was grilled salmon with grilled vegetables and brown rice pilaf.Β  The fish was cooked perfectly, however, the pilaf was a bit dry. After my main course, our waiter suggested us desert which was mouthwatering, to say the least. After dinner, we went to the upper deck to see the beautiful skyline of Niagara Falls.

IMG_2509.JPG
Grilled Salmon with vegetables and brown rice

All the items in the menu were really expensive and it was 40 dollars for a main course. Another downside to the menu was that it was completely male driven. The menu features steak, pork, spicy food and only two veg dishes. This restaurant is perfect for special occasions and not suitable for students on a budget.

Now I will conclude my post with ratings

 

  • Price – 2/5
  • Taste – 3.5/5
  • Service – 4/5
  • Ambiance – 5/5
  • Overall experience – 3.5/5
2 thoughts on “Skylon Tower (Continental Restaurant)

  1. I can certainly agree on these ratings! Skylon needs to get a full makeover on their presentation and price on food. As someone who works at a fine dining restaurant, I would not be proud of this food. Hope you had a fun time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

